Less than a half a mile away from the Island Keeper’s residence is The Oldest Existing One Room Schoolhouse In The County, which serves as a Reception Center for guests embarking on their journey to Hog Island. The 1899 schoolhouse has been fully restored and everything is original with the exception of the bathroom, which was an outhouse for the children.
The 600 square feet air conditioned reception center sits on over an acre of property that features large oak trees and plenty of parking for guests visiting Hog Island. Upon entering the historical schoolhouse visitors are welcomed to a one of a kind experience. The cypress wood ceilings, floors and walls are adorned with lake memorabilia that set the tone and include turtle shells from the island, a canoe and an ocean kayak. Power has been moved underground to make this unique reception center fully functional.